"Dutch" <buryit@blackholespam.net> wrote in message
news:3njsxm57xm3b$.dlg@blackholespam.net...
> While dumping the alt.cellular.sprintpcs bit bucket, I heard John Holmes
> say:
>
>> Last night, just before midnight, I received a SPAM text message as
>> follows:
>>
>> "from market@fastloanopt.com
>>
>> Subject: loan. 1500 loan, no credit check
>>
>> Message:No credit check or fax needed, instant online approval.
>> wwwfastloanopt.com"
>>
>> How they got my Sprint mobile number, in order to send me that SPAM, is
>> unknown. I give my number only to a few family members.
>>
>> This morning I went to that web site on my regular Internet browser, and
>> it
>> is parked--it is not even activated!
>>
>> It seems that, even had I responded to the text message, I would not have
>> been considered for a "loan."
>>
>> So what gives? What is the point in some SPAMMER sending messages and
>> using
>> an invalid return URL? Are they phishing?
>
> It looks like someone got ahead of themselves and sent out the spam run
> before the site was ready. The domain was registered on Mar. 24th. :-)
>
>> I phoned Sprint and they blocked further messages from that sender, but I
>> am
>> curious as to what the objective was in sending me the message in the
>> first
>> place.
>>
>> Anyone know what's going on???
>
> I believe the majority of the text spam originates as email sent through
> one of the many SMS mail-to-text gateways, likely just using sequential
> numbering. The cost to send it is so low that the spammers don't care if
> a lot of the addresses bounce. Since I pay per message, I've blocked
> most of the major gateways in my SMS filter using my online Sprint
> account's "Message Settings". Here's the list that I have blocked so
> far:
>
> cingularme.com
> email.uscc.net
> ivctext.com
> lolatext.com
> message.alltel.com
> message.sprintpcs.com
> msg.acsalaska.com
> mymetropcs.com
> nmode.com
> pcs.rogers.com
> qwestmp.com
> sms.sasktel.com
> teleflip.com
> tmomail.net
> txt.att.net
> utext.com
> vmobil.com
> vmobile.ca
> vtext.com
> vzwpix.com
>
> Since I've blocked those gateways, the only text messages I've gotten
> are free ones from Sprint CS.
>
> --
> Dutch
Where id this setting? I did not see it on the Sprint Web Site.