> Just came accross this site,www.ClickMeForTonsOfMobileSpam.co.uk,
> and it seems to offer free SMS messages, for the UK at least, has anyone
> ever used them..........
And you have no affiliation with the site, right? HAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!!!!!!!
"MasterBlaster" <Nobody's.Home@My.Place> wrote in message
news:6K8_h.1731$au6.1229@edtnps90...
>
> "specialmemobile" wrote
>
>> Just came accross this site,www.ClickMeForTonsOfMobileSpam.co.uk,
>> and it seems to offer free SMS messages, for the UK at least, has anyone
>> ever used them..........
>
> And you have no affiliation with the site, right? HAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!!!!!!!
Well I have SMS PUP here in Australia ..........free stuff.
I'd say you are a pom............go away.
On 2 May, 20:46, specialmemobile <specialmemobile.7eb...@mobile-
forum.co.uk> wrote:
> Just came accross this site,www.freebieSMS.co.uk, and it seems to offer
> free SMS messages, for the UK at least, has anyone ever used
> them...........
>
> --
> specialmemobile
Interesting site, claims to be free but it will cost you £5 to get the
message by SMS or £1 to get it from their web site.
>
>Just came accross this site,www.freebieSMS.co.uk, and it seems to offer
>free SMS messages, for the UK at least, has anyone ever used
>them...........
What's so free about it? Quote:
" Copyright 2007, Standard text messages to Orange, O2 (UK) and T-Mobile
are free to send, other networks cost 60p to send. For Messages sent to
O2,Orange and T-Mobile networks, the recipient will have the option to pay
£5 to read the message. Users must be 16+, this is not a subscription
service."
I don't know about you, but, if I received a text via them and had to pay
£5 to read it I'd tell them where to go. Seems you have to give them
your phone number, email address and presumably if you want to send a text
to anyone other than Orange, O2 (UK) and T-Mobile you'd have to give them
your credit card number. Great, so now this unknown site has your true
name, phone number, email address and card details. Smell something like
rotting fish?
>Interesting site, claims to be free but it will cost you £5 to get the
>message by SMS or £1 to get it from their web site.
>
>Am I missing something or does free now mean £5?
Free in this case means you give your credit card details to an unknown
site along with your true name, email and phone number. I'd say the £5 or
£1 reading fee would be the least of your worries.
On 3 May, 11:31, "Canopus" <JLNKOOECO...@spammotel.com> wrote:
> NeilH scribed:
>
> >Interesting site, claims to be free but it will cost you £5 to get the
> >message by SMS or £1 to get it from their web site.
>
> >Am I missing something or does free now mean £5?
>
> Free in this case means you give your credit card details to an unknown
> site along with your true name, email and phone number. I'd say the £5or
> £1 reading fee would be the least of your worries.
>
> --
> Rob
>
> http://www.flickr.com/photos/canopus_archives/
Not certain where you are getting the credit card info from as it is
the person receiving the SMS who is paying by "reverse SMS charging".
I still say that to advertise it as a "free" service (even the domain
name indicates it is free) and then charge £5 for the service.
Something is very wrong for them to be able to get away with it.
I think an abuse report to there ISP might be an idea. It worked with
another company who did a similar thing a couple of months ago.
On 3 May, 12:07, "Canopus" <JLNKOOECO...@spammotel.com> wrote:
> NeilH scribed:
>
> >Not certain where you are getting the credit card info from as it is
> >the person receiving the SMS who is paying by "reverse SMS charging".
>
> How do you pay the £1 to read it on site?
>
> --
> Rob
>
> http://www.flickr.com/photos/canopus_archives/
When you try to access the message you get the following "You can read
this text message on-line by making a small donation of £1 through
paypal."
There is then a button to paypal (although there is no proof that it
is paypal and not a bogus site!!)
>When you try to access the message you get the following "You can read
>this text message on-line by making a small donation of £1 through
>paypal."
>There is then a button to paypal (although there is no proof that it
>is paypal and not a bogus site!!)
I don't want to send myself a text through that system to get to that
button. If you've already tried it out does right clicking on that button
and bringing up its Properties reveal the URL of where you'd be directed
to? If so post it here and we can find out if it's real or not.
That fish smell is beginning to smell like a phish smell